Emerald City Comicon Recap

Tuesday, April 3rd, 2012

Hey All,

So Emerald City Comicon has come and gone. It was a weekend full of fun, excitement, and a healthy amount of stress. I accomplished almost all of my goals as far as who I wanted to pitch to and it appears that the Cobble Hill pitch was the favorite amongst the two.

One of my favorite editors in comics – Sina Grace, was his usual awesome self and accepted my pitches with an encouraging amount of enthusiasm. I had a chance to have a solid chat with Eric Stephenson concerning the pitches and he responded quite well to them. Charlie Chu has always been an amazing resource and was very supportive of my work. He gave me a lot to think about as far as moving forward with my projects which I plan on implementing very soon.

I had a great time on my first ever panel discussion for my writers podcast THE PROCESS which I conducted with Kurtis Wiebe and guest speaker Riley Rossmo. It was a decent turn out and several people stopped by afterwards to say hi and chat with us. I hope it was as informative as we aim for the show to be.

Outside of the business of it all, I had an amazing weekend with my good friends, Kurtis Wiebe, Ed Brisson, Nathan Crissman, Jason Copland, Jesse Young, Matt Battaglia, Nolan Jones, Sarah DeLaine, Brittany Matter, and my delightful co-collaborator Selena Goulding. I had some nice catch up time with Steve Niles, Brandon Seifert, Nick Spencer, Anthony Del Col, Charles Soule, Jim Zubkavich, Hunter Clark, Jarrett Williams, and Ron Chan. I also got to meet a few others for the first time such as Nathan Edmondson, Mitch Gerads, Jessi Reid, and Filip Sablik.

I had high expectations for this past weekend and I can honestly say ECCC surpassed all of them.

I’ll be spending the next few weeks following up with editors on these submissions and fingers crossed they still like what they saw.

Stay tuned…

2 comments on “Emerald City Comicon Recap

  1. I read Cobble Hill and I loved it! I want more!

Leave a Reply

